Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
What do you use? Oil or Grease?
gabquintero Offline
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 9:44:16 PM(UTC)
gabquintero

Man

So after the whole corrosion eating my gun incident :O

I went out and purchased some cleaning material. I am very interested in your opinions guys, newbie here.

I can't find a single video online comparing the two, so I purchased both.

Cleaning Kit

2AforLife Offline
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:26:51 PM(UTC)

I use Hoppes 9 and non chlorinated brake cleaner or powder blast if i see if for a good price, to clean and just switched to frog lube but not all my guns are frog lubed yet, I dont have that much time
cstone Offline
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:28:35 PM(UTC)
cstone

Was thanked: 146 time(s) in 127 post(s)
If it rotates, it gets oil.

If it slides, it gets grease.

No need to get fancy. One quart of synthetic motor oil will last a long time and is very effective.

I use simple white lithium grease, which can be found in any auto parts store or the auto parts section of WalMart.

There are lots of products out there. Find the ones that work well for you and fit your budget. Don't use WD-40 on your guns.

Non-chlorinated brake cleaner, mineral spirits, Hoppes #9, all make good cleaners and don't cost a lot of money. Another option if you want to brew up some of your own on the cheap would be Ed's Red - http://www.handloads.com...ticles/default.asp?id=9 Warning, it isn't something I would use without good ventilation but it does a great job of cutting any leading or copper fouling in a barrel.

Be safe.
adepto super vestri ego
5 users thanked cstone for this useful post.
gabquintero on 1/29/2013(UTC), Onramp on 1/29/2013(UTC), gfroniewski on 2/11/2013(UTC), oldtexan on 2/4/2014(UTC), Tadeusz on 8/19/2015(UTC)
gabquintero Offline
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 11:23:41 PM(UTC)
gabquintero

Man